I Want to Be Like…

Rachel.

This picture is not her, but it could be. You see, Rachel is sunshine and a breath of fresh air. I’ve known her about five years. We have taken water aerobics and yoga classes together at our local YMCA. She calls me “Miss Jane” and gives me the best hugs. She is about the age of my own adult children–in her 30’s.

Let me tell you what I admire about Rachel and why I want to be like her.

*She always smiles.

*She has fun in whatever she does.

*She shows excitement when she talks to everyone.

*She talks and shares with me despite having noticeable speech difficulties. Doesn’t stop her one bit!

*She has a childlike love of life.

*She loves helping others–getting a yoga mat for someone, offering a place to sit.

*She so appreciates outings and experiences and gifts others provide for her.

*She can’t wait for her next birthday (and starts talking about it months in advance)!

These are a few reasons why I like and admire Rachel and why I want to be like her.

Oh, and Rachel has Down Syndrome.

Leave a comment